6,555 Reviews & Articles | 44,285 News Posts

San Antonio Spurs win NBA championship against Miami Heat

The San Antonio Spurs won the 2014 NBA finals, topping the Miami Heat
By: Michael Hatamoto | Sport News | Posted: Jun 16, 2014 7:51 am

The San Antonio Spurs basketball team topped the Miami Heat to capture the 2014 NBA championship, winning the series in five games. Playing under coach Gregg Popovich, Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobi and Tony Parker are the winningest trio in NBA playoff history - and have captured multiple championships together.



"We had a great first quarter, but from that point on they were the better team, and that's why they're the champions in 2014," said opponent LeBron James, admitting the Spurs were just too dominant.


The Spurs-Heat series was a rematch from the 2013 season, which the Heat went on to win.


Even though the Spurs play in the fourth smallest market in the NBA, the team had $39 million in operating profits - showing the organization, from its management to the team, runs like a successful company.




Related Tags